2021 RTCA Dinner

2021 RTCA Dinner

The RTCA Dinner returns this fall on Wednesday, October 27, 2021.

More information coming soon.

2021 RTCA Awards Submission Information

Dear RTCA Members,

It’s time to kick off the 2021 submission process for the Joan S. Barone, David Bloom and Jerry Thompson Memorial Awards. 

I’m also happy to announce all winners will once again be presented with their award in person at the RTCA Dinner on Wednesday, October 27, 2021 at The Anthem in Washington, DC.

The deadline for submissions is Friday, August 27, 2021 at 5pm EDT, and submissions would cover work performed from August 2020 through July 2021.  Organizations can submit both the entry application and story content electronically.

The Joan S. Barone Award recognizes excellence in Washington-based Congressional or political reporting in the past year.  The award honors the memory of Joan Shorenstein Barone, a CBS producer known for her tenacity, detailed memory, and relentless pursuit of answers from politicians.

The David Bloom Award celebrates exceptional enterprise, investigative or enterprise reporting done in the past year, with a particular eye toward journalism that is fresh, daring or undertaken in difficult circumstances.  The award honors the memory of David Bloom, a dogged, creative, and gutsy correspondent and anchor for NBC News.

The Jerry Thompson Memorial Award recognizes extraordinary careers in photojournalism production, focusing on the qualities of selflessness, mentorship and commitment to quality.  The award honors the memory of Jerry Thompson, a longtime videographer for CNN known for his generous friendship, willingness to help others, and consistently pushing above and beyond expectations. 

For award applications, questions or clarifications, please contact Mike_Mastrian@saa.senate.gov. 


Jason Donner

2021 RTCA Dinner and Awards Chair & Executive Committee Member 

Fox News