RTCA Annual Dinner

For sponsorship opportunities, please email RTCADinner@advoc8.com.


Dear RTCA members,

I’m happy to kick off the 2019 submission process for the Joan S. Barone, David Bloom and Jerry Thompson Memorial Awards. Winners will be presented at the 75th annual Radio & Television Correspondents’ Association Dinner, set for October 24th at The Anthem.

The deadline for submissions is Monday, September 30 at 5:00 pm EDT. Organizations can submit both the entry application and story content electronically.  See the attached documents for detailed information and instructions.  

The  Joan S. Barone Award recognizes excellence in Washington-based Congressional or political reporting in the past year.  The award honors the memory of Joan Shorenstein Barone, a CBS producer known for her tenacity, detailed memory and relentless pursuit of answers from politicians.

The David Bloom Award celebrates exceptional enterprise, investigative or enterprise reporting done in the past year, with a particular eye toward journalism that is fresh, daring or undertaken in difficult circumstances.  The award honors the memory of David Bloom, a dogged, creative and gutsy correspondent and anchor for NBC News.

The Jerry Thompson Memorial Award recognizes extraordinary careers in photojournalism production, focusing on the qualities of selflessness, mentorship and commitment to quality.  The award honors the memory of Jerry Thompson, a longtime videographer for CNN known for his generous friendship, willingness to help others and consistently pushing above and beyond expectations.

For award questions or clarifications, please contact Mike_Mastrian@saa.senate.gov

For ticket information, or if your organization is interested in sponsorship or advertising in our program, contact RTCADinner@advoc8.com.   


Mariam Khan
2019 RTCA Dinner Chair
ABC News Reporter/Producer