2020 RTCA Awards Submission Announcement

2020 RTCA Awards Submission Announcement

Dear RTCA Members, 

I’m happy to kick off the 2020 submission process for the Joan S. Barone, David Bloom and Jerry Thompson Memorial Awards.  

Winners will be presented online in a special and exciting way to RTCA members this fall. 

The deadline for submissions is Friday, September 18, 2020 at 5pm EDT, and submissions would cover work performed from January 2019 through July 2020.  Organizations can submit both the entry application and story content electronically.  See the attached documents for detailed information and instructions.   

The Joan S. Barone Award recognizes excellence in Washington-based Congressional or political reporting in the past year.  The award honors the memory of Joan Shorenstein Barone, a CBS producer known for her tenacity, detailed memory and relentless pursuit of answers from politicians. 

The David Bloom Award celebrates exceptional enterprise, investigative or enterprise reporting done in the past year, with a particular eye toward journalism that is fresh, daring or undertaken in difficult circumstances.  The award honors the memory of David Bloom, a dogged, creative and gutsy correspondent and anchor for NBC News. 

The Jerry Thompson Memorial Award recognizes extraordinary careers in photojournalism production, focusing on the qualities of selflessness, mentorship and commitment to quality.  The award honors the memory of Jerry Thompson, a longtime videographer for CNN known for his generous friendship, willingness to help others and consistently pushing above and beyond expectations.  

For award questions or clarifications, please contact Mike_Mastrian@saa.senate.gov. 


Paul Orgel 

2020 RTCA Awards Event Chairman 

C-SPAN Editorial Director 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *